Crowcon - Detecting Gas Saving Lives
Crowcon shortlisted for UK Energy Innovation Awards 2019

The shortlist, chosen by a panel of expert industry judges from across the gas, electricity and water sectors has now been announced and the winners will be unveiled at an awards ceremony and dinner on Thursday 26 September at Liverpool’s Titanic Hotel. 

UK Energy Innovation awards, which have been showcasing the best innovations within the gas and electricity sectors since 2011, are greatly supported by the industry and offer an unprecedented opportunity for industry leaders and innovators to come together and celebrate the ideas and technologies that benefit customers, the environment, the industry and the supply chain.

This year sees 12 revamped categories, including exciting additions of ‘Young Innovator of the Year’ and two water industry specific awards. These categories reflect the pace of change and cross-sector collaboration across the industries, and provide a platform for third parties, innovators and SMEs to stand out from the crowd and showcase their ground-breaking work in innovation.

Denise Massey, the EIC’s Managing Director and chair of the judging panel, said:

‘Year on year the shortlist gets stronger and the entries received this year demonstrate the ambition and success of those addressing the challenges within the gas, electricity and water sectors.  It is fantastic to be able to give recognition to the achievements of those driving the industry towards its zero carbon targets and ensuring that customers have safe, sustainable and affordable utility systems they can rely on.’

Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony and dinner on Thursday 26 September at Liverpool’s Titanic Hotel. Leading industry partners will be attending, as well as representatives from industry regulators, Ofgem and Ofwat.

The UK Energy Innovation Awards 2019 Shortlist is as follows:


1. Best electricity network improvement 


• Digital Engineering – Asset Management

• Outram Research Ltd – Real Time Fault Level Monitor (RTFLM)

• GridBeyond – The World’s First Hybrid Battery & Demand Network

• Digital Engineering – Grid Resilience

• Voltra Technology – DRH4

• CAPTURA Surveying & Inspection – 360 Backpack Technology

• NM Group – Vegetation Analytics

• Entrust Microgrid Ltd – Entrust Smart Home Microgrid

2. Best innovation – electricity


• Elimpus – Overhead Line Wireless Monitoring System

• GridBeyond – The World’s First Hybrid Battery & Demand Network

• Esmart Systems UK Ltd – Connected Drone

• Kaluza – The Kaluza Platform

• GNOSYS Global Ltd – Self-healing Fluid Additive

• TSAFET Ltd in association with Exact Projects Ltd – Touch Safe Tag (TST)

• Powerline Technologies Ltd – SYNAPS

• Turbo Power Systems – Bi-Directional DC-DC Converters

• Digital Engineering – ALiRA Project


3. Best gas network improvement 


• Synthotech Ltd – System Two Assess & Seal Solution (STASS)

• Steve Vick International – Enhanced SEAL (E-SEAL)

• Crowcon Detection Instruments Ltd – The Crowcon LMm

• Enduratec Ltd – DURASEAL


4. Best innovation – gas


• Lagoni Engineering Ltd – Open Source SCADA

• Gas Leakage Solutions – Top Tee Siphon Adaptor

• Steve Vick International – Enhanced SEAL (E-SEAL)

• The Technology Partnership (TTP) – Phased Array

• Synthotech Ltd – ServiBoost

5. Best water utility improvement


• Environmental Monitoring Solutions Ltd – SMART Sewer

• MMC Fittings Ltd – Plastic Pipe Coupling Solution

• nuron Ltd – Fibre Sensing Technology

• Synthotech Ltd in association with HMG Water Solutions Ltd – HMGmic/PipeMic

• EcoGenR8 (Trading as AFECO) – Bio-cage™


6. Best innovation – water


• NVP Energy – Anaerobic Digestion Wastewater Treatment Technology

• Environmental Monitoring Solutions Ltd – CENTAUR™

• PAM Analytics – PAM


• Altitude Thinking – AquaBot

• SmartValve Ltd – SmartValve


7. Best collaborative project


• WRC – Measuring the Impact of Network Activities


• Progressive Energy Ltd – The Green City Vision Project

• PassivSystems – The Freedom Project

• Callen-Lenz Associates Ltd – Above & Beyond

8. Young innovator of the year


• Dale Colley – Altitude Thinking

• Thomas Fudge – WASE

• Rob Battrum – Frazer-Nash Consultancy

• Thomas Shepherd – Desinov, UTC South Durham

• James Cugley – University of Kent

• Tommy Isaac – Progressive Energy Ltd

9. Best emerging cross-vector technology


• PassivSystems – Hybrid Control Platform


• Bowman Power Group Ltd – ETC 1000

10. Best DSO enabling project


• ElectraLink – The LCT Detection Project

• Turbo Power Systems – Bi-Directional DC-DC Converters

• Insolar Technologies GmbH – Insolar Transactive Energy System

• Digital Engineering – Weather Corrections for Individual Substations

• Gridhound GmbH – AI Digital Solution (Digital Twin)

11. Social impact

• HALO Kilmarnock Ltd – HALO

• WASE – Modular EMR System

• 1Spatial – Smart SLG

• Egnida Group Ltd – Scalable Online System


12. Customer focus 


• Progressive Energy Ltd – The Green City Vision Project

• Labrador – Automated Switching Services

• BeON energy – Solar Kit

• Vestemi – Radbot

• GenGame – ACE Project

• Neighbourhood Economics – SAVE Project

• iPower – Power Circle

(Sourced from


Subscribe to our blog

Join our mailing list to receive the latest blog!

    Read about Crowcon’s Privacy and Cookie policy here. If you change your mind, you can unsubscribe at any time.